Presence is a Virtue – Part 2

tramCatching public transport to and from work can be a really good use of your time. Of course, you can read a book or do work but you can also use this time to practice being present. It is particularly beneficial to experience the present moment while commuting since it is usually at the beginning of your day (you can set a calm, focused tone for your whole day) and at the end of your day (you can wind down and let go of the events of the day). I find the following exercises very useful when I am commuting to and from work.

1. Focus on your body on the seat

  • Close you eyes if you like and focus all of your attention on how it feels to be in contact with the seat you are sitting on
  • Focus on how your back, bottom and legs feel against the seat
  • If you are standing, simply feel your feet on the floor and anything else your body is in contact with. Examples include your hand on a hand rail or your clothes against your skin

2. Focus on your body’s movements

  • A bumpy ride on a train, tram or bus can often be annoying and we tend to resist moving with the vehicle’s motions by tensing our bodies
  • Try relaxing your body and letting yourself move naturally with the motions of the vehicle
  • Focus all of your attention on the movements your body is making and how these movements feel
  • This can turn an ordinarily annoying experience into a rather enjoyable one!

3. Focus on one instrument in a song

  • If you listen to music while on public transport try focusing intently on only one instrument used in the song
  • Focus on the drum beat, the guitar or even the vocals
  • This exercise makes me appreciate music so much more since it becomes more than just the background noise behind my thoughts

Do you have any suggestions on how to be present on public transport? Let me know in the comments section below 🙂

Lisa

P.S. If you would like to know the reason and purpose for this blog check out the About page here.

5 comments on “Presence is a Virtue – Part 2

  1. kevin says:

    Some of my deepest and most peaceful moments of meditation have been on the one hour bus journey I take to Dublin city centre. You’ve got some nice ideas for staying present in your post 🙂

  2. JasmineKyleSings says:

    No one ever suggested for me to focus on a instrument in a song! I was always taught to do that part in silence and silence KILLS me. Thank you I will try this next time!!!

    • No problem 🙂 You can also focus on listening to your surroundings. I find that no matter where you are there is always some kind of noise. Not only does it give me something to focus on, it made me realise just how good my hearing is!

      • JasmineKyleSings says:

        Well then I will whisper… thank you for giving me a new way to meditate. And I’m sure you will hear it!

What do you think?

